2014_GAW-os-web

9 printmakers will be showing their work at this year’s open studio – come by, see some art, check out our printshop, maybe pick up something new for your collection!
Saturday and Sunday the 25th & 26th, from 11 am to 6 pm.

You can get a quick preview on some of the artists’ websites here:

Melanie Dorson http://www.melaniedorson.com/
Mariko Jesse http://www.marikojesse.com/
Eddie Lee http://www.sq-i.com/
Geneviève L’Heureux http://www.genevievelheureux.com/
Gail Morrison http://www.gailmorrison.com/
Elisabeth Nicula http://elisabethnicula.tumblr.com/
Andrey Semyonov http://andreysemyonov.webstarts.com/
Barbara Stikker http://www.barbarastikker.com/
Toru Sugita http://www.torusugita.net/

Congrats to Elisabeth Nicula and Toru Sugita on being chosen for ArtSpan Valerie Leavy’s Top Ten SF Open Studio Artists.


studio1aThe Graphic Arts Workshop, or GAW, was founded by faculty from the California Labor College in 1952. Their societal concerns were reflected in each artist’s style of work and in the co-operative form of the Workshop. In the early years, members printed posters, leaflets and pamphlets in support of peace and civil rights issues. During the Sixties, the GAW lent space for anti-Vietnam War activities.

Over the years, the GAW membership has included many distinguished artists, undertaken national and international art exchanges, and hosted traveling exhibits. A pamphlet from a 1989 history exhibit offers this sentiment: “In all this, there were no imposed styles or themes. Artist-members as individuals worked freely with a diversity whose common element was the love of printmakimg.”

Today, the cooperative has approximately 40 members working in traditional fine art printmaking techniques. The Workshop is a non-profit, mutual benefit corporation. There is no paid staff; the maintenance of the fully-equipped printmaking studio is shared equally by all members. Administrative management of the Workshop is conducted by a board of directors elected from and by the membership.